The Fresh Loaf

News & Information for Amateur Bakers and Artisan Bread Enthusiasts

May #BreadChat is today! (May 16) Topic: Amateur Bakers Going Pro

  • Pin It
bagel_and_rye's picture
bagel_and_rye

May #BreadChat is today! (May 16) Topic: Amateur Bakers Going Pro

New for 2012, #BreadChat is a Twitter discussion hour for bakers of yeasted, artisanal breads.

 

When is the May 2012 #BreadChat?

Wednesday, May 16, 2:00-3:00 pm Chicago time (UTC/GMT -5 hours). That's 20:00 London time, 21:00 in Berlin, 22:00 in Helsinki. In Sydney, 5:00 Thursday, May 17; in Auckland, 7:00 Thursday. We're delighted to welcome back Eric Duhamel (@EricFrenchBaker), Master Baker at Daylesford Organic, as the co-host of the May #BreadChat.

 

What are we chatting about?

During #BreadChat, @AmateurBakers lead the discussion through a handful of questions related to yeasted bread baking. In May, @EricFrenchBaker will be answering questions about the road from amateur baker to professional. (During the March #BreadChat, we discussed various techniques for developing the gluten network in bread dough. At the April #BreadChat, we discussed bread ingredients that tend to interfere with the development of the gluten network.)

 

How to participate: 

If you haven't done so already, create a Twitter account. Once you're logged into Twitter, click on #Discover, and then search for the hashtag #BreadChat. A hashtag is any word with a hash (#) in front of it. Hashtags make Twitter discussions easy to find and follow.

 

To suggest a question to include in the discussion, please email it to breadchat [at] amateurbakers [dot] org.

 

#BreadChat transcripts are posted on The Fresh Loaf: April 2012March 2012February 2012.

 

Many thanks to The Fresh Loaf for hosting our transcripts, and to our friends at #SeedChat for inspiring this new project!

bagel_and_rye's picture
bagel_and_rye

Transcript of the May 2012 #BreadChat is posted at http://www.thefreshloaf.com/node/28702/transcript-april-2012-breadchat-twitter