The Fresh Loaf

News & Information for Amateur Bakers and Artisan Bread Enthusiasts

'gluten free' non-wheat products

  • Pin It
quickquiche's picture
quickquiche

'gluten free' non-wheat products

To the best of my understanding, gluten is a protein composite found in foods processed from wheat.  I am emphasizing 'wheat' because I have a question about this.

I was in the supermarket yesterday. While walking through the Meat Dept., I noticed in the refigerated shelves they had packaged sliced ham listed as "gluten-free".  Yeah, last time I looked, pretty much all pork products didn't come from wheat.

So, I guess I'm wondering why any non-wheat product like pork, beef, etc, etc, that is obviously not  a wheat product be listed as 'gluten-free'.

Can someone please exzplain this? Thanks in advance. :)

Glenn

LindyD's picture
LindyD

Sometimes ham comes with a glaze, and the glaze contains wheat. 

Sometimes manufacturers add a current catchy (and overworked) phrase to their products, such as "artisan carrots."

The ingredient list should be your guide.

quickquiche's picture
quickquiche

Lindy D,

Aha, ok. That makes sense. Thank you for explaining that. :)

Tory

clazar123's picture
clazar123

Gluten can also be in flavorants and additives that may be derived from other cereals/grasses. Some celiacs need to prevent even a miniscule exposure.