The Fresh Loaf

News & Information for Amateur Bakers and Artisan Bread Enthusiasts

Dense and heavy bread...

timtune's picture
timtune

Dense and heavy bread...

It's a dense and heavy loaf this time. Good for gluten-intolerent people i suppose, since it's 100% rye.
I decided to use the last remaining half of a German bread-mix packet. It says Roggen Vollkorn, or wholegrain rye if i'm not mistaken. Just add water and yeast, mix and u're done! :)

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

Here's the packet...

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

Would pair well with a 'leberwurst' bought the other day...hehehe ;)

Comments

bottleny's picture
bottleny

"A gluten-free diet is a diet completely free of ingredients derived from gluten-containing cereals: wheat, barley, rye, kamut, spelt, and triticale."
From wiki.

timtune's picture
timtune

Oh, I thought gluten intolerent people are still able to tolerate a small amount of gluten.

timtune's picture
timtune

I see. Thanks for the info :)
Sorry to hear about that. Must be hard with many wheat products on the market.
My bro is allergic to peanuts, on the other hand. Thankfully i'm not allergic to anything of which i know, so far. :)

pizzameister's picture
pizzameister

My condition is much like helend's. Heartburn and bloating very soon after eating wheat or other gluten containing food. But, it is the quantity that matters most. The longer term and lingering effects (1-2 weeks) are less easily related to a specific indulgence, and come from too many little cheats as well. These include joint pain, back pain, general weakness and foggy headedness, anxious feeling, and intestinal disfunction.

Back on topic.....Oats seem to be OK to eat for me, and they should be OK even for celiac patients, but there seems to be an issue of cross-contamination, the result of most oats being processed in same plants and on same machinery as wheat grains. Also, there can be a few wheat grains that carry over from crop rotation of oats with wheat. The small amount of carry over can be a problem with very severe celiacs, but is not a problem for many.

The newest information I have read says that oats, by themselves, do not contain the offending proteins. For consumption by severe celiacs, oats must come from pure sources and be processed at pure mills. I believe there are sources of gluten free oats out there.

Another approach is to buy whole oats, pick out any "other grains", rinse well and grind for use.

PM