The Fresh Loaf

News & Information for Amateur Bakers and Artisan Bread Enthusiasts

HAGGIS EN CROUTE, USING BRIOCHE - WITH SUNFLOWER OIL (VEGAN)

  • Pin It
Breadandwine's picture
Breadandwine

HAGGIS EN CROUTE, USING BRIOCHE - WITH SUNFLOWER OIL (VEGAN)

I've been meaning to make a vegan brioche ever since I learned it could be made with olive oil instead of eggs and butter. And, with Christmas dinner coming up, I wanted to use such a dough to make a vegan haggis en croute. 

And, if olive oil could be used, why not sunflower oil?

I finally got round to it on Christmas Eve - here's the story, plus pics, on my blog:

http://nobreadisanisland.blogspot.co.uk/2012/12/haggis-en-croute-using-brioche-with.html

I want to pay tribute to txfarmer, whose post:

http://www.thefreshloaf.com/node/20251/olive-oil-brioche-tartine-bread-again

alerted me to the possibility of a vegan brioche. One of these days I'll have to look up the Tartine book!

Cheers, Paul

 

dabrownman's picture
dabrownman

a fine Vegan Christmas Dinner.  I didn't see your vegan Haggis in your photos and wondered what was in it besides mushrooms. Is there a non vegan pesto?  We really like your take on vegan brioche dough with the tomatoes etc! 

Nice baking!

Breadandwine's picture
Breadandwine

Hi DA

Thanks for your kind words!

Sorry it's taken me so long to respond - it's so easy to get distracted on line, and very easy to go off on a tangent!

Here's a pic of another haggis en croute - about halfway down the post. I suspect, however, this is a commercial (veggie/vegan) haggis, since it's round - I tend to cook mine in a loaftin.

http://nobreadisanisland.blogspot.co.uk/2011/09/portfolio-for-students.html

And I've just found the haggis recipe I posted on my blog a couple of years ago (I've just brought it to the top) - I don't know why it wasn't coming up in a blog search...

http://nobreadisanisland.blogspot.co.uk/2010/12/vegetarian-vegan-even-haggis.html

There's a pic of my homemade haggis on the recipe post. 

About pesto - 'original', or proper pesto, contains parmesan or pecorino cheese. The vegan pesto doesn't, of course.

Cheers, Paul