The Fresh Loaf

News & Information for Amateur Bakers and Artisan Bread Enthusiasts


Tulip1's picture


Hi everyone,

 What a wonderful blog.

There was an entry which said, I think, that kosher cake would not have butter.  I think this is inaccurate;  I have several kosher recipes which include butter--also butter substitutes, if the cake is to be eaten at a non-dairy meal (meat).



chayarivka's picture

Kosher bread must not be dairy, although some authorities permit it if the shape is unusual and specific. The sages ruled that the chance for a mix-up was too great, i.e.; eating meat with dairy bread, that is the reasoning. A cake can be kosher if whether it contains dairy ingredients or not, as long as it is baked in a dairy or parve oven, contains kosher ingredients, and other requirements.