'gluten free' non-wheat products
To the best of my understanding, gluten is a protein composite found in foods processed from wheat. I am emphasizing 'wheat' because I have a question about this.
I was in the supermarket yesterday. While walking through the Meat Dept., I noticed in the refigerated shelves they had packaged sliced ham listed as "gluten-free". Yeah, last time I looked, pretty much all pork products didn't come from wheat.
So, I guess I'm wondering why any non-wheat product like pork, beef, etc, etc, that is obviously not a wheat product be listed as 'gluten-free'.
Can someone please exzplain this? Thanks in advance. :)